The Shearwater Flyers, football, 1950’s


1957 Canadian Intermediate Football Champions (undefeated)


Shearwater Flyers, 1957;  Franchise: 1949-1979


The Shearwater Flyers football team won the Canadian Intermediate Football title twice, but in 1957 they went undefeated and was the first Maritime team to win the national title. That team is being honoured in this induction.


But they, like a few other teams in this inaugural legacy induction, were a premiere franchise organization in Nova Scotia, winning seven Purdy Cups (as NS Champs), three Maritime Football titles and two national titles during the years from 1947-1967. The Shearwater Flyers name was adopted in 1949.


In 1957 they defeated the St. F.X. X-Men for NS title; the Mt. Allison Mounties 40-18 for the Maritime title; the Brantford Tiger Cats 12-7 for the Eastern Canadian title; and a come-from-behind victory over the Fort William Redskins 27-21 in Halifax for an undefeated season, claiming the Robinson Memorial Trophy as Canadian champions.


The star running backs and dominant point gatherers included Bob Hayes, Bruce Walker and Buck Taylor; Don Lilly was the quarterback. Still it was team effort with great defence and sterling two-way efforts by several players.


The 1957 team is in the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame (1987) as well as the Canadian Forces Sports Hall of Fame.


The Shearwater Aviation Museum also has a splendid display of the Shearwater Flyers teams, their history and photos from 1949-1969. The featured photograph used in this web site is courtesy of the Aviation Museum and the list of 1957 players was compiled by  Rollie West, a former players for many years (1950-55) with the Flyers, but he was posted elsewhere for the 1957 year, returning to play agin in the early to later 60s. Rollie was the quarterback during his tenure with the early Flyers, with Don Lilly taking over in 1956.


Team names are to be added. (TO BE ADDED)




    Comments are closed.